DjangoBooks.com

AER amp or BOSE COMPACT...?

Dario NapoliDario Napoli Milano✭✭✭✭ Hahl Gitano Deluxe
So, I've just been wondering what the majority of people think here.
Like everyone I love the natural sound of the guitar so I've always tried to use an audiotechnica mic on my guitar instead of the piezo in live settings. I've tried both the AER Compact and the Bose Compact systems but can't seem to make up my mind since every time seems different.
Has anyone tried both and have a definite opinion/suggestion? Is there maybe a particular AER model that is overall better suited for the gypsy jazz sound?
Thanks!

Comments

• icyhoticyhot Los Angeles✭✭✭
    I know you posted this a while ago and your questions may have been answered, but I have some experience with both, mainly the Bose compact which I own. I've gigged with the Aer though.
    I bought the Bose to use as PA for my band because we all sing, but the base unit works great as a personal amp as well, with the only drawback being the weight at close to 30bs. The Bose sounds really natural and gets really loud too, even without setting up the tower. You can plug an AT or bigtone in directly and it sounds good. I use the baggs venue preamp for more eq (use the phase switch with AT mics for feedback control) and volume. At $1000 street price it's very versatile as a PA system with a mixer or as just a guitar amp. I don't miss the eq because I use the preamp. It's much more portable than a typical PA system, and it disperses the sound nicely throughout the room. For smaller gigs I just bought a Phil jones cub (11lbs) which sounds great and gets good volume for its size with a higher gain bigtone.