DjangoBooks.com

Looking for a new d hole guitar...advice please

Whats up guys....i've been playing guitar for 28 years, playing gj for about 7 years, i started on a regular acoustic, then i bought a used gitane dg250m for like $450.... I hated that guitar, the sound and feel, it was a nice looking guitar though. For the last 4 years my main guitar has been a gitane d500 mac copy....i love this guitar, the sound, the short scale, the neck shape...etc...i play lead in my trio and would like to upgrade my guitar situation....i prefer the d hole, and the short scale, but i would like a 14 fret guitar, with american fret markers like the d500...i dont know if i should go with a high end production model, or go custom....if i went custom i would like to use an american builder. Any advice would be appreciated. Thanx

Comments

• Michael BauerMichael Bauer Chicago, ILProdigy Selmers, Busatos and more…oh my!
    Jack, you're in NYC? if that's right, then look no further than Rodrigo Shopis. He's a great luthier, and you could follow the guitar all the way through the process. Another guy to consider is Craig Bumgarner, in Maryland, who has really started gaining alot of admiration these last couple of years. Peter Zwinakis makes fine guitars on the West Coast. I'd mention Bob Holo on skill alone, but getting one can be difficult, and you may have to take what's available.

The neck shape might be different on a 14-fret guitar, because they are usually narrower necks. Also, many will come with 10th fret dots, but those are easy to move.
    I've never been a guitar player, but I've played one on stage.
  • Jack NYCJack NYC New
    Thanks for the advice, im gonna check shopis out ....
  • Jack NYCJack NYC New
    What about production models....like dell arte or something
    jkunz123
  • klaatuklaatu Nova ScotiaProdigy Rodrigo Shopis D'Artagnan, 1950s Jacques Castelluccia