DjangoBooks.com

NOOB - Why the emphasis on loudness?

deadedithdeadedith New
edited May 2013 in Welcome Posts: 44
Okay, I'm kinda new to the jazz thing - I do have a question: Why the emphasis on loud guitars? It cannot be just for volume, because I see lots of pickups, lots of microphones, lots of amps being used.
Or is the loudness a sign that something has been done right, in the building of the guitar? a key to a quality? Is tone sacrificed for loudness, or do they go together?
Thanks
Dave

Comments

• Some of us GJ players are into dynamics. Others just play loud to get that certain acoustic ound of a selmac played properly...ie hard
    The Magic really starts to happen when you can play it with your eyes closed
  • JonJon melbourne, australiaProdigy Dupont MD50B, '79 Favino
    Most of the people I play with - although I admit this is a dying fetish - really believe in acoustic music. It balances naturally and unobnoxiously in small bars, cafes and concert settings, and is great for small outdoor gigs and jamming. But you do need a loud guitar, and to be able to play it loudly also. Although it seems people are using amps and PA systems more and more, I think this should always be a last resort after your right hand has fallen in a bloodied heap :) The music just sounds a million times better without wires and speakers.

Probably the main reason though that volume is important is for jamming, and all the many situation where you'll not want to cart an amp around. Not needing to carry an amp everywhere or be dependant on power outlets is one of the best things about Gypsy jazz. It's truly nomadic music :)

Jon
  • MichaelHorowitzMichaelHorowitz SeattleAdministrator