DjangoBooks.com

Improvisation while learning "Gypsy Jazz Techniques" book.

edited September 2013 in Gypsy Picking Posts: 5
Hi, I have been learning your book for the past 4 months now, and have a question. Over the past month or so (I have made my way through the first 5 techniques and accompanying pieces) I am finding it really hard to get a grasp of improvisation. I would consider myself a very confident guitar player, but have left all my old setlist aside as I am concentrating on my gypsy jazz playing. I have simple enough pieces in my head but can never transpose them to the guitar. I have composed a few different pieces using the exercises I have learnt from your book, but if I need something extra I can never seem to figure it out.

I don't know if this is because I am just not meant for this style or because I am still an amateur in the realm of gypsy jazz.

Any comments would greatly help as I am becoming increasingly frustrated

Comments

• MichaelHorowitzMichaelHorowitz SeattleAdministrator
    Hi,

Learning to improvise is a life long process and is akin to learning a language. Just learning a few licks is analogous to speaking French with a simple phrase book. To truly improvise, you need to learn the "language of jazz" buy doing years of listening, transcribing, and practicing. It's a long process, but it's all about the journey!

Michael
  • good words Michael
    The Magic really starts to happen when you can play it with your eyes closed
  • Lango-DjangoLango-Django Niagara-On-The-Lake, ONModerator
    Well, blindbuffin, the truth is that it ain't easy, bbut at least two or three things help keep you from throwing in the towel

- looking back since you started playing GJ, hopefully you see some progress?

- the encouragement you get around this website from your fellow 'frustrati"

- going to functions like Django in June and getting inspired by the great players there...

Keep practicing!

Will