DjangoBooks.com

Gitane DG-340 Modele Stephane Wrembel Model

jonpowljonpowl Hercules, CA✭✭✭ Dupont MD-100, Altamira M01F
I have a chance to upgrade my Gitane DG-255 for the DG-340 Stephane Wrembel Model and am looking for feedback from anybody who knows or owns the DG-340. Any advice will be appreciated.
Thanks/merci/gracias

Comments

• John418John418
    I got my new about a year and a half ago. I've been playing guitar for a bit over 30 years (rock, blues, jazzy jam stuff) but I was just beginning this style at that time. The guitar has worked quite well for me and I like it more and more over time. It really dislikes extremely dry weather, I've noticed. I really need to keep it humidified this winter.

Depending on how well I'm playing, the tone can really hold up with the best luthier-built guitars I've played over the past few years (mainly at Django in June 2012 and 2013). The tone isn't as barky as some but I wouldn't call it quiet. Other players at DiJ seemed to like it as well. I also really prefer the silver hardware, plain neck style.

I prefer the action over most guitars I've played. I got the guitar from Michael with the special setup by Josh Hegg. I've heard that replacing the stock bridge with a better, fitted one (part of what Josh did) makes all the difference with these guitars. You may have already done this with your Gitane.

I do plan on getting a luthier built guitar at some point. Looking at ALD, Freschi, AJL, Olivier Marin, or Hahl (if I hit the lottery). But with the Wrembel Gitane, and having played a few other supposedly 'better' instruments, I'm really not in any huge rush. I play about 20 hours a week, typically. And it goes without saying, the guitar is still better than me at this point.

John
  • Il TrovatoreIl Trovatore San Jose, CANew
    I also own one of these and bought it brand new, about 2 years ago.