DjangoBooks.com

How to "pimp" my GJ-15

in Welcome Posts: 2
Hello,
great to have found this forum.
A year ago i bought a GJ-15 since as a drummer i wanted to get into La Pompe.
I never played guitar before, so it was a steep learning curve for the left hand.

But: Persistence ain't futile and alas... I already learned a lot.

As a beginner i am quite happy with the GJ-15 I bought, however after playing on a much better instrument some weeks ago, i was thinking what i ( if anything sensible ) I can do to improve the sound of the Box.

My main concern ist still the buzzing Low-E String, meaning: When i hit it open it usually buzzes a little.
Don't know if this due to the short neck ( i am playing the Argentine 1510MF ), or if the neck-rod needs to be adjusted.
Furthermore i was wondering if an exchange of the bridge, saddle, tuners and maybe the tailpiece is of any substancial value, or if i should just save the monies ...

Thanks a lot.

Comments

• pickitjohnpickitjohn South Texas Corpus, San Antonio, AustinVirtuoso Patenotte 260
    @Schieferstein

you could check out…

Bob Holo quick course on gypsy jazz guitar setup

if that doesn't make sense to you, you may need some assistance from someone knowledgeable with GJ guitar setup. Google or youtube will help.
    Once you get the neck right you may want to proceed into the bridge adjustment realm.
    If you report your findings it may be easier to help.
    The search engine top right corner can supply your answers IMMEDIATELY.
    This question is often asked and answered many times.

pick on
    pickitjohn:peace:
    Hey, thanks. Thats a great video.
    And yes, you are right, I should have searched more thoroughly.

I guess I'll better bring the guitar to a local repair guy to have it looked at.
    He would have way more experience than i could ever gather from online knowledge.

cheers!
  • pickitjohnpickitjohn South Texas Corpus, San Antonio, AustinVirtuoso Patenotte 260