DjangoBooks.com

New to violin

hanear21hanear21
edited July 2014 in Violin Posts: 62
Hey folks, I picked up a violin a couple months ago and I was wondering if there are any gypsy jazz specific resources for beginning violin players. All I've seen on this forum is a post from Michael from 9 years ago and I was hoping there might be something new since then :)

Outside of resources, does anyone have any advice about how I should go about studying the violin? All the great gypsy players seem to have learned by ear. Should I just start trying to learn solos? That seems like it would be painfully slow-going since I'm new to the instrument. Any suggestions are welcome.

Thanks!
Tagged:

Comments

• Joli GadjoJoli Gadjo Cardiff, UK✭✭✭✭ Derecho, Bumgarner - VSOP, AJL
    Tim Kliphuis is probably the best. Even as a guitar player, I got some his teaching material, and it's really great.
    http://www.dc-musicschool.com
    http://www.hyperhipmedia.com
    Also I know Tim gives lessons, and of course there is the Grappelli camp.

I am sure there is some great material from other great violinists, but unfortunately I dont know it.
    - JG
  • Al WatskyAl Watsky New JerseyVirtuoso
    Its a long story,but I was an adult beginner on violin at one point.
    I worked very hard at it for about 12 years and was OK, I played a few gigs as a violinist and doubled Guitar /Violin on most of my musical work.
    So I guess I'm qualified to reply.
    I have a background in music. I came to fiddle late, I was 45. I got the best fiddle I could afford set up by the best guy I could find at that moment , found a teacher who found me a bow and studied for several years. I practiced 3-5 hours a day .
    I would suggest you get an instructor of the highest level who will accept you as a student. Learn how to hold the fiddle and bow and do whatever they tell you to do.