DjangoBooks.com

Advice on short chord based fills please

Hi guys, I play an acoustic guitar in a New Orleans and Gypsy Jazz band. I've only ever play rhythm and feel a bit lost with lead. Another guitarist in the band does all the solo work and I stick to rhythm, except every now and again the band leader wants me to do a short fill. (usually 2 to 4 bars long).
I'm not amplified and single line solos would not be heard over the crowd, so it has to be a chord orientated solo. I pretty much just play the rhythm changes but a bit louder. Does anyone have any suggestions for more interesting "chord based fills" that I could play, or point me in the right direction to learn short chord phrases. I don't even know what the technical term would be.

I read the forum a lot and can usually get your advice and experience without posting, but this query has me stumped. Cheers, John.

Comments

• I'm no expert and you probably know this trick, but using tremelo and taking a diminished 7th chord up the neckneck every third fret is simple and effective.
  • Tremolo is a good technique and @rgrice suggestion is a good one in the right place. In the right spot you could also do something along the line of Say starting in C69 C7/E Fmaj7 F#dim C69 further up the neck and synchopating the rhythm

Moving the bass line or the melody line through a series of chord changes in a rhythmically interesting way.

Loud chord shots synchopated to the bass line

A few ideas to think on
    The Magic really starts to happen when you can play it with your eyes closed
  • Great ideas @rgrice and @jazzaferri. I'm particularly interested in learning some more quick chord phrases like the C69 chord change example from @jazzaferri, exactly what I was hoping for. Djangobooks never fails, thanks!
  • ChiefbigeasyChiefbigeasy New Orleans, LA✭✭✭ Dupont MDC 50; The Loar LH6, AJL Silent Guitar