DjangoBooks.com

Left hand fingerings

emicademicad Rome - ItalyModerator
edited March 2006 in Gypsy Picking Posts: 472
Hi Michael,
I’m looking at your Gypsy picking book, in particular Example 11.2 (Minor double bass pattern) and I’ve noticed a thing: why do you suggest different left hand fingerings compared to your Unaccompanied Django book? For example, in the Am I don’t see a double stop, in the Bm7b5 where you suggest to use a little barrè with fingers 2 and 3 added I have seen suggested a 4 fingers classic position in the other book (some times not always), the Dm is fingered with fingers 1, 2 and 4 instead of 1, 2 and 3, the same for Fm. What’s the reason? More experience added? Or simply more comfortable positions in that situation?
Another question (not in that exercise): I’m studying Improvisation 3 part 2 and I’ve found this chord

- - -
- 0 -
- 2 -
- 3 -
- 3 -
- 1 –

It’s like a F with the note B instead of C (B string).
Why you suggest tu use the thumb and a double stop with second finger on strings A and D instead of fingers 3 and 4 like you’ve done other times? It’s terrible for my little hand...
I have a lot of other examples but I don’t want to stress you, it’s nothing important, just for curiosity.
Thanks

Comments

• MichaelHorowitzMichaelHorowitz SeattleAdministrator
    emicad wrote:
    Hi Michael,
    I’m looking at your Gypsy picking book, in particular Example 11.2 (Minor double bass pattern) and I’ve noticed a thing: why do you suggest different left hand fingerings compared to your Unaccompanied Django book?

Hi..

Actually, Example 11.2 is fingered the same as Etude #2 in the Unaccompanied book. That's an example where conventional finger work better. It was transcribed from Boulou Ferre and that's how he would play it. The Django pieces use the 1 finger double stops, and usually they work better that way.

emicad wrote:
    Another question (not in that exercise): I’m studying Improvisation 3 part 2 and I’ve found this chord

- - -