DjangoBooks.com

Anyone have chords for this version?

AndrewUlleAndrewUlle Cleveland, OH✭✭✭ Cigano GJ-15
in Technique Posts: 541
Anyone have the chord voicings the rhythm player is using here? They are different (and better) than the ones I know.

Share this video http://youtu.be/aTK_UToAYXY

Comments

• gatsbygatsby United States✭✭✭✭
    edited October 2015 Posts: 119
    He plays very standard chords. Which ones in particular are you interested in? The only thing he does differently is at the end: G7-C7-F, instead of the usual Bb/B-C/C7-F
  • AndrewUlleAndrewUlle Cleveland, OH✭✭✭ Cigano GJ-15
    I am very new to this genre, so for example G7 to me has many possibilities, probably not the ones you're thinking of. For example the first chord the rhythm player uses (actually 2nd chord in the song - he missed the 1st chord), looks to be on the 9th fret. I play 6x56xx (a Bbm7?) there.
  • BonesBones Moderator
    Yeah the chords look pretty standard. He intentionally lays out on the first 2 measures of Bb (which is not unusual for the head in). Then Bbm with the root on the 6th fret 6th string. Then F in first position, and it looks like he plays B7 to C7 (i.e. approaches the C7 from 1/2 step below) but not sure about that.

The rest looks pretty standard except looks like Cm to D7 (rather than Am7b5 to D7). Also not sure about the Dm6 that he is playing after the A7??? His thumb looks like it is on the 2nd fret on that one but he is probably damping that note rather than playing it since it is a major 3rd.
  • gatsbygatsby United States✭✭✭✭
    edited October 2015 Posts: 119
    Bones,

He plays Cm because Am7b5 = Cm6. All you need to do is add an A, like this: 5-x-5-5-4-x. Django does that very often, for instance, playing a Dm6 arpeggio or lick on a E7. (When Day is Done, HCQ Strut, etc.)