DjangoBooks.com

Recommendations for New York City luthier to reduce boomy bass on a Gitane DG-320 John Jorgenson?

Hi Everyone,

I've been playing a Gitane DC-320 John Jorgenson D-hole for about six months now. I'm pretty happy with it except that--as others have noted--the bass is extremely boomy and wet. Low B, to be precise. Then other notes do not ring out as much.

I understand getting a replacement bridge is the way to go. I do not feel I can do this myself.

Can anyone recommend someone who understands Selmer style guitars who can replace my bridge? I've had work done at Brooklyn Lutherie on my fiddle and electrics, and they are fantastic. I know Rodrigo Shopis is in my town but isn't that like asking Michaelangelo to touch up the finish on my Ikea bookshelf?

(Or does anyone have any magic tricks like shimmying the bridge on one side, or can someone recommend a specific set of strings to reduce bass?)

Thanks!

Tagged:

Comments

• rob.cuellarirob.cuellari ✭✭✭✭
    the bridge is a very important part of the guitar, and you might as well do it right if you're going to do it at all.

rodrigo also might be able to to set up the guitar in a way that might help you find your desired sound.

i don't recall his exact rates, but i do recall prices being reasonable.

-rob
  • AppelAppel ✭✭✭
    edited June 2016 Posts: 78
    I know Rodrigo Shopis is in my town but isn't that like asking Michaelangelo to touch up the finish on my Ikea bookshelf?