DjangoBooks.com

Scales and Modes

RichRich New
edited August 2006 in Gypsy Jazz 101 Posts: 50
I was wondering how many of gypsy players know their scales?

By this I mean have built their playing around them.. I was under the impression that they are mainly connecting arpeggios togethor.. which I guess leads to a certain understanding of scales.

I know some of the posters here have been and learnt directly off the gypsys.. players like Fapy Lafertain. Does he encourage learning scales?

I realise scales are a useful thing to have an understanding of.. but I am scared they lead to players putting little thought into what they are playing (i.e just blindly playing notes from the scale knowing they can't go far wrong).

Learning arpeggios has developed my phrasing far more.. but then there is the risk of just riffing and again getting boring..

Discuss. :D

Comments

• JackJack western Massachusetts✭✭✭✭
    I've no first-hand experience, but my feeling is many know the sound of a certain scale/mode if not the common name...one of my favorite examples is an interviewer asking Bireli what he might play over a dominant chord; his first response was "What's a dominant chord?"

Best,
    Jack.
  • tommasotommaso ROMA-ITALYNew
    ...one of my favorite examples is an interviewer asking Bireli what he might play over a dominant chord; his first response was "What's a dominant chord?"

Often I read things of this type on the great guitarists and I am always a lot fascinated, but I think they are a little exaggerated . I can't believe that truly they do not know things like dominant chord etc. I do believe only that they want to emphasize the importance of the aural factor of music, but not that they want to underrate the importance of the theoretical acquaintances.

Tommaso
    Grazie Django!
  • dennisdennis Montreal, QuebecModerator
    they don't necessarily know t he names of the chords but they know what they are.