DjangoBooks.com

How to Play Django's Chromatic Descending Run on Minor Swing 1937

Gtr_NjaGtr_Nja New
in Technique Posts: 2
I know this has been discussed in other threads, but I think the answers may be unsatisfactory. When I transcribed it a few years ago, I came up with the same solution as Dennis, I believe. I have been practicing it that way for a couple of years, and some days I can do it at tempo. Only some days.
I follow strict gypsy picking rules, which is where the problem lies. Listening today, it finally dawned on me that Django was probably using triplet picking. Or, that's how it sounds to me today. That would necessitate a different solution to the lick.
Currently, I play E String - Fret 3 2 1 0 B-String Fret 4 3 2 1 0 G-String Fret 3 2 1 0 D-String Fret 4 3 2 1 0 1 2 3 G-String Fr. 1 B-String Fr. 3 E-String Fr. 1 4 7 7 etc

This works fine with alternate picking, but isn't the sound he's creating.
Gypsy picking works, but creates the double down between string b and g.
Triplet picking is an impossible nightmare with this pattern.

But, listening, I'm pretty sure I hear Triplet picking D-U-D, almost throughout. Certainly for the first four triplets.
If this is so, then what might be the real fingering for this lick?

Does anyone else hear it as triplet picking? That fouth note just seems too strong to be an upstroke.

The triplet picking is more obvious at speed. Slowed down, to my ears it doesn't jump out as much.

So, any takers?

Thanks!

Comments

• dennisdennis Montreal, QuebecModerator
    edited October 2016 Posts: 2,159
    I'll have to retranscribe this one! I ve transcribed this solo maybe 4-6 times over the past 16 years!! Every time I do it , I discover something new!

My guess is that it's not a worked out line but something that came in the moment. His timing is definitely triplets until he gets to the open D, but then he sort of rushes a bit when he ascends with a super sloppy F diminished arpeggio thing.