DjangoBooks.com

Bridge and neck compesation, should i adjust the truss rod?

Okay, I posted couple days ago that something fell from inside the guitar I recently got, I was told it was the truss rod and quickly realized it's function.

Thing is, the guy who sold it to me, told me that the guitar had a very high action and he found himself having to sand the bridge, it really is exaggeratedly sanded, it's about 11mm now, all of its bottom makes contact with the guitar, and still the action was quite high (about 4mm).

I realized the neck was quite bowed, so I adjusted the truss rod by myself which I know was a little risky considering I'm a total newbie on lutheiry and more specially about gypsy jazz, and now the neck is completely straight (With a little tinny small amount of relief at the firsts frets but it dissapears once the strings are off).

I had to fix the intonation again, moving the bridge around and I finally got it at an uneven position, it's quite diagonal but I don't mind that.

Anyway, the guitar played well since with about 2.8 action on 12th fret, but I definitely want a taller bridge, I mean, this one doesn't look like a bridge at all.

He also gave me the guitar with other bridge, almost completely new (19.3mm). I wanna put that one.

I put it, fixed the intonation, tuned up etc etc...but the action is...well... my pinky finger fits in there lol.

I also found it projects sound way more than the other bridge.

So to fix this, I'm thinking of adjusting the truss rod to get the back bowed neck, with a similar action, the same if possible...so now my question is if this is doable, I mean, how much can I tighten the truss rod of a Gitane DG-255? Or it's better to sand this bridge as well? if so, what is the best or preferred bridge height?

I know that there's a lot of debates between moving the truss rod to change action, some recommend it others say that you must not touch it as a rule. But hey, what else is there to do?