DjangoBooks.com

Rosenberg academy or Joscho Stephan's Gypsyjazzguitar academy

Feruza2134Feruza2134 The NetherlandsNew Phoenix D hole guitar
edited August 2018 in Gypsy Jazz 101 Posts: 86
Hi, i am a beginner gypsy jazz player and would like to sign up with one of these sites, which one do you guys think i should pick? thanks

Comments

• richter4208richter4208 ✭✭✭
    I really like Rosenberg Academy but honestly it's not great for beginners in my opinion. If you are really tenacious and a crazy hard worker you will get a lot out of it, but it will take years, not months.
  • Feruza2134Feruza2134 The NetherlandsNew Phoenix D hole guitar
    @richter4208 i am an experienced guitar player just not in the gypsy jazz genre (i played mostly classical guitar before this) thanks for the reply!
  • jonpowljonpowl Hercules, CA✭✭✭ Dupont MD-100, Altamira M01F
    There is a lot of free stuff out there by Robin Nolan, Samy Daussat, Christiaan Van Hemert, https://www.guitare-improvisation.com/video_learn-gypsy-jazz-guitar-lesson.php, John Scrivo, Tim Robinson, etc.
    Josechiky
  • Who’s playing do you like?
  • kungfumonk007kungfumonk007 ✭✭✭✭
    Joscho's is going to be better for beginners - even though he has a lot of his signature virtuosity on the site he also has a lot of stuff that is really toned down. I think the intro lessons on dc music school will also be good.
  • ShemiShemi Cardiff✭✭✭
    edited August 2018 Posts: 170
    I like both. One of the things that I like about Joscho's site is there are usually two types of solos, that being easy and then a more intermediate/advanced one. The easy ones have some nice melodic ideas that are effective and simple. The solos are quite short so they feel relatively bite sized. Not much talk of what's going on in terms of concepts, but of course you might be able to ascertain those for yourself.