DjangoBooks.com

What to focus on in the left hand for an absolute ( guitar ) beginner

Hello dear people,
I recently started to fullfil a livelong dream: Mastering ( or at least try to ) the Manouche Rhythm guitar.
Since I am a professional drummer I do not struggle too much with the right hand, keeping time, dynamics or understanding of song structure or musical context.
However my left hand struggles a lot. I hope it will become more flexible with time ( but since I am already in my late 40s I am also realistic enough to expect no wonders.)
The problem is, that very often I find myself muting a string that should be sounding or vie versa, because my of my fingers ability to bend in the right places :)
I have got some very nice and »original« sounding albeit complicated voicings and I think I should rather live with unprecise sounding chords in the beginning and then work my way into the details once they are more internalized then to simplify the voicings.
Some guitarists however told me to rather be very precise with the finger positioning in the beginning.
What is your take on that? Does the stretching come just by playing alone when you are not a kid anymore?

Thanks for all input!

Comments

• BonesBones Moderator
    Start with simple 3 chord songs and simple left hand grips and play slowly at first. No faster than you can play cleanly. Then slowly increase tempo.
  • Thanks for the tip. Which songs would you recommend?
    I of course worked with minor swing and omitting the in between chords.
  • Hi,
    From your post it's unclear whether you know how to play guitar or not at all... anyway, I am writing in assumption that you are brand new to guitar.

I began to learn guitar (from knowing nothing at all) when I was in my mid-40s. Four years into it (with the guidance of a gypsy jazz guitar teacher weekly), I found some critical lessons: