DjangoBooks.com

Pulling the neck on a nomade - how easy does it go back together?

colorado_hickcolorado_hick Hotchkiss Colorado✭✭

I have an oval-hole dupont nomade that I often use with a krivo single coil. The end of the fretboard is cut flush instead of convex (like most other contemporary oval hole models i have seen) which means that the pickup sticks down into the sound hole. Not the end of the world but still...

I am a marginally apt luthier, I have built a couple banjos and a telecaster and I have a decent shop. I am wondering about removing the next and cutting the curve into the floating fret board so that things fit better.

My question is, do the necks go back on pretty much exactly like they come off? I like my neck angle and action where it is right now.

Comments

• jonpowljonpowl Hercules, CA✭✭✭ Dupont MD-100, Altamira M01F

I think it would be a whole lot easier to buy a rectangular Nuevo or Humbucker from Jason and sell your current odd shaped pickup. I would contact Jason Krivo and find out about the shaped pickup, perhaps it is all epoxy and could be trimmed. Better to alter the pickup than ruin the resale value of your Dupont.

• t-birdt-bird Portland, Oregon Castelluccia Nuages, Dupont Nomade

In my experience, the action and neck angle aren't noticeably different before and after removing/reattaching.

That said, I'm with Jon - you'd be better off finding a pickup that fits the current design. I am guessing the curved accent on the pickup is just aesthetic and could be trimmed. Would be easy to find out.

MisterKevster
  • stuologystuology New

Isn’t the Nomad designed with a removable neck? I thought that was one of its selling points.