DjangoBooks.com

Ok....just starting. Here's what I sound like pre-"Gypsy Picking"

JimfogJimfog
edited November 2019 in Gypsy Picking Posts: 9

Just got a nice Gitane DG-310 Lulo Reinhardt.....already nicely setup with a Dupont bridge, etc. Here's my 1st shot at playing anything in this style. I have "Gypsy Picking" and will dig in soon, but I figured I'd put this out there as starting point of my progress.....if any happens!

As I mentioned in another thread, I'm a full-time pro player, so I don't know how feasible it will be to totally revamp my RH, but we'll see.

(You don't have to be on Facebook to view, BTW)

https://www.facebook.com/jimfog/videos/10218903609596699/

Buco

Comments

• karmarkarmar New

Hey Jim - Nice playing! welcome to the brotherhood! I like your vibrato. It will be interesting to see how you progress if you leave more videos as you pick up more and more of the genre. How are you supporting your guitar? Best not to be supporting the guitar with the same hands you are using to play - but you already know that...

Jimfog
  • ScoredogScoredog Santa Barbara, Ca✭✭✭✭

Hi Jim,

there is some nice stuff in there...I'd look at playing using rest strokes more. I also suggest being a bit more aware where you are when finishing phrases so you are not grappling with the end of lines (I'm guilty sometimes of that too as are many others).

JoseJimfog
  • crookedpinkycrookedpinky Glasgow✭✭✭✭ Alex Bishop D Hole, Altamira M & JWC D hole
    edited November 2019 Posts: 921

Very nice ideas and playing. My only comment would be about how you're holding that pick. It looks like a very loose grip with a lot of the pick being exposed. But maybe as you work through the Gypsy Picking book you'll adjust that. Good luck.

Jimfog
    always learning
  • MichaelHorowitzMichaelHorowitz SeattleAdministrator
    edited November 2019 Posts: 6,152