DjangoBooks.com

Stopping when I make a mistake

gypsynovicegypsynovice New Altamira M01

Hi,

I'm a total novice and trying to learn Gypsy rhythm. My teacher is pleased with my progress, however my biggest problem is stopping when I make a mistake. Following the stop I can't pick up where I am in the tune. Does anyone have a useful suggestion or anything that will help me? I've been playing for five months, I practice with ireal everyday and with my teacher twice a week.

Thanks

Comments

• Lango-DjangoLango-Django Niagara-On-The-Lake, ONModerator

Memory issues... we’ve all been there... good topic.

First thing I would ask is, these tunes that give you a problem... are you playing them by memory, or reading some kind of chord chart?

If it were a chord chart, I would get out my highlighter and highlight the parts that throw me, and then use my ireal to play over just those changes—- nothing else—— so many times I’d be totally sick of them...

The the next time I’d play that tune, the highlighted part would remind me, “Oh, yeah! It’s that @#$&* part I hate. Let’s not #$&* it up again.”

####

In trying to play by memory, a thing that often helps me is to memorize the lyrics of the tune so I am able to sing them to myself as I play... by some weird process of osmosis, the lyrics help me remember the correct chords.

#####

All that said, in live performance I will sometimes blank out on a chord change, and in those instances I find it helpful just to form a fake “chord” by damping all the strings with my left hand while my right hand continues to strum just as if everything is totally normal... i find I can get away with this for a bar or two until I get my bearings again.

(I’ve never confessed publicly to doing this before... but yeah, I can get away with it occasionally...)

Good luck!

Will

BucogypsynoviceJosechiky
    Paul Cezanne: "I could paint for a thousand years without stopping and I would still feel as though I knew nothing."