DjangoBooks.com

Ergonomics of holding the instrument question

MichaelEMichaelE New
edited March 2013 in Gypsy Jazz 101 Posts: 3
I've just started playing this style, and I'm having some serious discomfort with the standard position for holding and playing the instrument (re: page 11 in Mr. Horowitz' "Gypsy Rhythm" book). I've been playing the guitar for 47 years, most classical and jazz, with a short stint training with the Guitar Craft folks here in Seattle working on body alignment (Alexander Technique) and picking technique. I have a Gitane D-500 guitar.

I'm long-waisted and short-legged, with back and knee problems that I alleviated by using a Dynarest leg prop for playing classical, and a guitar strap for playing everything else - anything to keep both feet on the ground, the upper legs parallel to the ground, and the back/torso untwisted.

The position shown in Mr. Horowitz' book (and in observing the positions of other players) feels too low and twisted off to the right side - I have to hunch over, and that lasts only about 10 minutes. I've found that the only position that seems comfortable is a flamenco guitar position, with the instrument resting on the right leg, but with the fretboard and head held much higher than what is apparently the norm. This is ok, but I'm having to work too hard with the right arm to hold it in that position for long.

Has anyone else had to deal with physical issues like this, and how did you adjust? I'd hate to have to give it up just when I've started because of this.

Thanks,
Michael E.

Comments

• Lango-DjangoLango-Django Niagara-On-The-Lake, ONModerator
    Well, Michael, I'm far from being an expert, but I'm gonna go out on a limb here and say,:

"Any position that is comfortable and allows your right hand to successfully execute the rest stroke is a good one."
    Paul Cezanne: "I could paint for a thousand years without stopping and I would still feel as though I knew nothing."