DjangoBooks.com

Discouragement

2»

Comments

• djadamdjadam Boulder, CONew
    (Michael, I hope you don't mind that I quoted part of your book, but if so, please edit this post as you see fit)

I'd like to add that I got the gypsy picking book and to be honest, I read something on page 6 which made me put it down (at least for the time being):

I was fortunate enough to have the luxury of practicing eight hours a day on a regular basis... and after six months I felt fairly confident... If you take a hiatus from performing for at least six months, then you will learn much faster. If you try to mix your old technique with the rest-stroke approach too soon in your development then it will be very difficult to master the required motions."

In my case, I am barely scraping up a living and loving life because I have been gigging regularly for the past 4+ months. But what the above paragraph tells me is not to bother with the gypsy technique unless I can detach myself from my band, my job, and everything that keeps me fed for six months.

I can easily understand why the mixing of styles would hinder my progress, but can you see how discouraging this is for people like me? Has anyone here had success in incorporating the rest stroke technique without putting their lives (especially their musical lives) on hold for it?

Perhaps you should have inserted a paragraph about the usefulness of finding a sugar-mommy!
  • MichaelHorowitzMichaelHorowitz SeattleAdministrator
    Sorry about that...I still think its best to be honest. The vast majority of guitarists are highly delusional about what it takes to develop good technique. There's no way around it....you have to put in the hours.

'm
    Honesty of the brutal kind is a rarity and I appreciate it, especially from someone trying to sell books - most authors would probably rather blow smoke up your ass and sell some more books. You even give examples in your book about what the technique is bad at!