DjangoBooks.com

Playing Fast

1235»

Comments

• Charles, Is a "wife" range of emotions the next level up from a wide range. :)

If a person does not have enough technique to express themselves ....well....then one is is in the other end of sterile boat without being able to admire the technique.

One of the things that I enjoy about SR. AD and JR. is their ability to express that fiery intensity and go on to haunting inner reflections etc. etc. I wish there were some current mainstream jazz guitar players who played with such feeling. There may well be, but I haven't heard them.

The Magic really starts to happen when you can play it with your eyes closed
  • BonesBones Moderator
    "I must admit though that I have a harder time appreciating a player who sounds like their lack of technique is limiting what they can say. "

Yep, exactly. Thanks Charles that is what I was trying to say. Why have limits?

I can't solo fast although I wish I could. But I'm not a pro. Nonetheless, aspire to the highest level of technical ability that you can achieve, use it as you will and have fun no matter what your level. No matter what you do some will like it and some will not. That's just subjective opinion and can be debated until the cows come home. But if someone has technique (and that IS necessary to play at the highest level) there isn't any debate about that. There are a finite number of contemporary players who can ACTUALLY hang at those tempos and I love to listen to all of them. And they are all 'artists' at the highest level and we are lucky that they are keeping the genre alive and healthy and moving forward.

Sure sometimes it comes across as a 'cutting session' when there are multiple high level players on stage at the same time. Cool, I love it, bring it on! They are just pushing each other. I'd love to be able to hang with those guys!
  • Russell LetsonRussell Letson Prodigy