DjangoBooks.com

Vibrato

Comments

• Paulius VolkovasPaulius Volkovas ✭✭✭
    Sorry, i didn't want to discourage anyone. There are some good suggestions, please keep them comming.
    What helped me with 2nd finger vibrato is start slow and making all subdivisions of the beat with vibrato.then increase the tempo when i can do it.
    I developed some strenght in my wrist this way. But what bothers me its more difficult on some parts on the neck along the string.
  • HemertHemert Prodigy
    edited May 2015 Posts: 264
    Back when the Rosenberg Academy started in 2011 I studied Stochelo's vibrato in great detail. I'm talking looking from all angles, feeling the muscle tension in his arm and shoulders during vibrato, finger pressure on the strings and angle of the wrist.

Vibrato on the high B and E string is usually achieved by:

- let go of the thumb behind the neck and point it up and slightly backward
    - there's only one contact point with the guitar (the vibrato finger or two fingers)
    - lock your wrist
    - make up and down movements from the elbow
    - the more you tense the muscles in your forearm the faster the vibrato will be

Vibrato on the low A and E string:

- Keep your thumb on the neck but move it back away from the fingers and halfway on the neck (halfway between the top and bottom of the neck)
    - there's two contact points (finger(s) on the fret and thumb behind the neck)
    - move the string up and down by rotating your HAND (like turning a door knob)
    - there's a slight "squeezing" motion involved
    - tense the muscles in your forearm

Vibrato on D and G is far more difficult. You can choose one of the two vibrato techniques above but you will find the strings are much harder to move.

Some key points:

- tensing the muscles in the forearm will really help achieve the right sound
    - you need some pressure on the string but not TOO MUCH, just enough so that the string doesnt slip away from your fingers during the vibrato