DjangoBooks.com

What to do with pianist/good bass tone

EliPorterEliPorter New
in Bass Posts: 8
Hey I'm just getting into gypsy and me and a few friends wanna get to together and jam, There is a guitarist, pianist (also sings) and me on electric bass (also sings). I have 2 questions, since I don't play upright, what should I do to get the best bass sound for gypsy jazz, I know a few strategies for getting a tone similar to upright (https://goo.gl/SwM75s) (https://goo.gl/KM1UJD) I could also have the pianist do left hand bass with me which leads me to my next question. What should I pianist do? Would left hand bass and right hand melody might work. Since me and pianist both sing what should the right hand do when one of us is singing? Wouldn't standard comping get in the way of guitarist? Thanks in advance!
Tagged:

Comments

• Russell LetsonRussell Letson Prodigy
    A lot is going to depend on the pianist's taste and restraint. More than one gigging guitarist of my acquaintance has grumbled about pianists' tendency to fill the entire harmonic space, stepping all over the guitarist--and one pianist I know is valued partly because he knows how to share space with others.

I would think that an experienced keyboardist knows how to stay out of the way of the bass and knows how to comp behind a vocalist. I would also think that in a band with multiple potential singers, the sensible approach is for whoever's not singing to take over the comping role--though a singing bass player really can't abandon the bass, unless the keyboardist has a really solid left hand. (I've played with two singing bass players, and it's a non-trivial accomplishment.)

In a trio environment these roles can evolve naturally or be worked out explicitly without too much drama. (Otherwise, why be playing together?)

dm7b5
  • dm7b5dm7b5 New Orleans, LA
    “They got all those keys and they are louder.. Always defer to the piano player.” - Joe Pass
  • PompierPompier MarylandNew Cigano GJ-15