DjangoBooks.com

One last attempt to find one soul who can identify this guitar

Comments

• bopsterbopster St. Louis, MOProdigy Wide Sky PL-1, 1940? French mystery guitar, ‘37 L-4

@Chris Martin my remarks are based on a consensus of luthiers, collectors and shop owners that I have contacted, and that is it. I have very little personal knowledge of construction techniques or other clues as to which hands may have played a part in this guitars construction.

You are one of the only folks I’ve seen posting with knowledge of where these luthiers moved around, and possibly who may have been responsible for various aspects of this guitar’s design.

Any expertise/insights or references that you can recommend are greatly appreciated.

• MichaelHorowitzMichaelHorowitz SeattleAdministrator
    edited March 2020 Posts: 6,153

The tailpiece on the one Marcel Bianchi is holding is reminiscent of ones that Carbonell used:

and Fiore

and Francesco

bopster
  • bopsterbopster St. Louis, MOProdigy Wide Sky PL-1, 1940? French mystery guitar, ‘37 L-4

@Chris Martin - I did reach Joël LaPlane, and he stated that it wasn’t a Carbonell:

Bonjour

Ce n'est pas une Carbonell.

Je pense à une facture italienne manche, filets, table, peut-être à Paris, Di Mauro dans les années 1960 ou autre

Cordialement

Joël LAPLANE - Luthier, Maître d'art

• ChrisMartinChrisMartin Shellharbour NSW Australia✭✭ Di Mauro x2, Petrarca, Genovesi, Burns, Kremona Zornitsa & Paul Beuscher resonator.
    edited March 2020 Posts: 959

Which would tie in with my guess at a neck by Carmelo Catania and possible early Di Mauro body.

But !

Coincidentally I was looking for something else when I found this on page 218 of F. Charle's Selmer book.....well right or wrong at least I am in good company !

MichaelHorowitz
  • scotscot Virtuoso