DjangoBooks.com

Joscho Stephan alternate picking?! La Gitana lick

Comments

• cantzoncantzon Jeju Do, South KoreaNew
    There are many good reasons to play different styles. When I was quite a bit younger I would practice to the point of burning out and then put the guitar down. These days I compartmentalize my study so that I study a bit of something and when I get burned out I study a different style. I found that when I started studying this way my playing improved in all areas. The human brain has enormous potential to absorb information. It's not like you learn one thing and it kicks out other information to make room for the new info.

There is also another very good reason to be versatile. I am a guitar teacher. I found that I was getting far more students that teachers who specialize in specific genres. I cn't begin to tell you how many students I got who defected from heavy metal guys.

Also if you are a giging musician you actually can make more money playing different styles. Elliot is right in the sense that guitar is also is trade. After giving it some thought I agree with him. My point, and the one I prefer to believe, is that more than that music is an art. But anyway, you can make more money playing different styles.

When I was back in South Carolina I played four different styles in one week- Nikita Koshkin the elves suite (classical), bluegrass with a local group, jazz fusion with John Blackwell on drums (he now plays for Prince), and a rock group.

It may be amusing to some of you to know that I made the least ($0) for the most difficult music...the classical. And the most- around $2000 for the crappy rock band where I just sat in asked what key and improvised off the top of my head.

Right now I really am enjoying listening to and studying gypsy jazz, but I seriously doubt I can make much money...at least here in Korea.
  • chip3174chip3174 New
    cantzon quit typin' and start playin'
  • DrSnyderDrSnyder New
    Dear Forum-Members,