DjangoBooks.com

Installing a Schatten Pickup on my Gitane

Hi, I just received my gitane D-500. I am going to install the schatten pickup, and was wondering if some other people who use them could give me some advice. Is there any reason to modify the tailpiece so that the endpin jack is centered? If it is truly an unnescessary step than I will skip it, but I want to make sure there are no advantages to changing it. Also, while I have some experience working with guitars, I have never added an endpin jack where there wasn't already a hole. Any tips on how to do it cleanly? I don't see why I wouldn't be able to do it myself, but I am a little nervous.

Comments

• dennisdennis Montreal, QuebecModerator
    hi colin, email michael collins at <!-- e --><a href="mailto:[email protected]">[email protected]</a><!-- e --> he has experience installing these pickups, btw are u guys still playing barfly on wednesdays, i ll pass by tomoroow night
  • ScotsmanScotsman MinnesotaNew
    I think the only reason for centering the end-jack is if you plan on using it for a guitar strap, if you play sitting I don't think it would be worth altering the tail piece. I mounted a endpin jack just below the tailpiece on my Dg250and it worked out just fine. As far as drilling the hole,start with a small drill bit then the proper size for the jack. It helps with splintering if you put some masking tape on first then drill,also use brand new drill bits.
    Most importantly take your timeand don't try to force the drill.Hope this helps, its really not to difficult
    Good luck :)
    Steve
  • trumbologytrumbology San FranciscoNew
    I understand (from Michael Collins) that the Schatten pickup was being redesigned because of insufficient gain. I'm not sure if there is more than one acoustic guitar Schatten pickup, or what the status is on this modification.

Anyone know anything about these?

nh
  • djadamdjadam Boulder, CONew
    trumbology wrote: