DjangoBooks.com

seeking chord book similar to Robin Nolan's Gig Book

bohemewarblerbohemewarbler St. Louis, MO✭✭✭✭ Jordan Wencek No.26, Altamira M01D-12 fret
edited July 2012 in Gypsy Jazz 101 Posts: 243
Does anyone know of a Gypsy chord book that is in the same, simple and easy illustrated style, and as nearly extensive, as Robin Nolan's Gig Book? I like the Gig Book because it shows the grilles and where and what fingers should be on the fret and in mostly three-note chords. I'm self-taught on the guitar, so these easily played and easily illustrated grilles are extremely helpful.

I want to learn more Gypsy jazz chords to tunes not available in the Gig Book and am also interested in playing other chord interpretations. I have difficulty with Colin Cosimini's Chord Books because only a small percentage of the chords are actually illustrated, and Michael's Horowitz's Gypsy Rhythm book (Vol 1) illustrates only 8 songs.

Comments

• Michael BauerMichael Bauer Chicago, ILProdigy Selmers, Busatos and more…oh my!
    There is a Django Fakebook out there somewhere, and I think someone posted a link to a free download recently. Some of the songs are in the wrong key, and some of the chords are not what people usually play, but it is a pretty good resource.
    I've never been a guitar player, but I've played one on stage.
  • PassacagliaPassacaglia Madison, WI✭✭✭✭
    There is a Django Fakebook out there somewhere, and I think someone posted a link to a free download recently. Some of the songs are in the wrong key, and some of the chords are not what people usually play, but it is a pretty good resource.

Here it is. (PDF)
    -Paul

pas encore, j'erre toujours.
  • Archtop EddyArchtop Eddy Manitou Springs, ColoradoModerator
    Here's another old stand-by site with lots of songs and chord charts. (Pick songs from column on left...) AE

http://www.grilles-manouches.net/index.html
  • bohemewarblerbohemewarbler St. Louis, MO✭✭✭✭ Jordan Wencek No.26, Altamira M01D-12 fret