DjangoBooks.com

Need Advice Buying a Gypsy Guitar from Classifieds

I live in Oakland in the SF Bay so there's no where around for me to try out guitars in person really. I'm looking for a quality guitar preferably under 2k. I'm a musician already and don't want a starter instrument. This is my first gypsy guitar.

Only thing in my area is Gitane guitars, e.g. this DG-300 https://sfbay.craigslist.org/sfc/msg/6057635898.html

From what I read and expect Asian guitars are very inferior so my next choice is to look through the classifieds here, but there's a lot of stuff in my range and it's a bit of a gamble, so I'd really appreciate some advice! Here are some I'm looking at:

In forums: FOR SALE: 2003 GALLATO 452 PETIT BOUCHE for $1900

Dupont Nomade $1800 http://www.djangobooks.com/Item/dupont-nomade-2012-9

Dell'Art Hommage $2000 http://www.djangobooks.com/Item/2004-dell-arte-hommage

Geronimo Mateos $2200 http://www.djangobooks.com/Item/geronimo-mateos-jazz-b-d-hole-2

Comments

• richter4208richter4208 ✭✭✭
    personally I think that Dg300 is a great candidate, sounds like its been already setup and new tuners (which is huge). Bigger bonus you get to try it first and make sure its playable. Of the other guitars you listed the only one I'd be interested in is possibly the Dupont.
    Lindyhopper
  • anthon_74anthon_74 Marin county, CA✭✭✭✭ Alta Mira M 01
    An Alta Mira costs the same as the DG 300 but sounds and plays much better (I own both). I have heard several dupont nomades at django in june over the years, and I think you're better off going a little cheeper with the Alta Mira. I've heard a Mateo recently and it also sounds better than any nomade I've heard.

My 2 cents
    Lindyhopper
  • ScoredogScoredog Santa Barbara, Ca✭✭✭✭
    edited March 2017 Posts: 867
    You are probably going to get a ton of opinions cause everyone here has bought at least one Gypsy Jazz guitar and we are all experts!