DjangoBooks.com

A Good Flight Case

Does any one have a line on a good flight case. The airlines managed to destroy my Calton and I am wondering if there are any other cases that are as good.
Thanks in advance
Tom

Comments

• trumbologytrumbology San FranciscoNew
    I have no experience with Calton cases, so I don't know if this one (details below) is better or not. I bought one, have yet to take it on an airplane.

Discussed here:

viewtopic.php?t=443

Sold here, among other places:

http://www.fqms.com
    SKB ATA Dread. Flight Case
    Item # SKB-18RW

Neil
  • langleydjangolangleydjango Langley, WA USA✭✭✭✭
    My question is:
    How did the guitar IN the Calton come out? And, if the guitar is fine, why would you want something different?

These are real questions, not smartass remarks.

I'm guessing you're just checking out options since you have to buy something to replace the destroyed case. But if it did its job...
  • mitch251mitch251 marylandNew
    Well The short answer is after flying with that case for 10 years
    the airline managed to break the case and the guitar. The guitar thanks to
    insurance and Eric Aceto has been repaired but the case has to be replaced. That being said I don't think you can do much better than Calton, that case took alot of beatings at the hands of the airline folks and even after they busted it you could dance on it. My problem is that I have more than one guitar that I fly with (different sizes) and right now I cant afford 2 Calton cases at $700 apiece. I will buy one and see if I can find a case that will hold up till I can afford another one. So I guess I am looking for a less expensive alternative that I can fly with that will still leave me some peace of mind if I have to put it under.

Thanks Tom
  • JackJack western Massachusetts✭✭✭✭
    Tom,