DjangoBooks.com

Fapy says most are "just playing notes..."...

Comments

• kevorkazitokevorkazito Winnipeg Manitoba Canada✭✭
    Buco wrote:
    Hey guys - is this a CD, or DVD (maybe it's both?) of Fapy live in Paris? I have the Tchavolo Live in Paris, been unable to find one from Fapy. Info much appreciated!
    I thought he was talking about Angelo Debarre DVD/CD, at least I was. I have a CD not a DVD though, well not a physical CD, I have a Spotify subscription now and that's my main musical "library" these days.

Yes, I was referring to Angelo Debarre's 'Live in Paris' DVD. I watch a bit of it every morning before I practise. I have Tchavolo's DVD too. I pretty much got it because I really love 'Valse à Dora'.

I did find this: 'Le chemin de Django DVD'. That's on my list to get next for the performance of Fapy and Lolo at Samois.

I've gotta find a way to get to Djangofest NW this fall...
  • PassacagliaPassacaglia Madison, WI✭✭✭✭
    Fapy, Lollo and Stochelo, if you please. :D

That's a great DVD, and the section with the three of them playing together at night in Samois is priceless. Django Legacy is another one. For some wonderful commentary by Tchavolo, Romane and Angelo, David Reinhardt, Elios and Boulou Ferre and others, if you haven't already, see also the 100th birthday celebratory film, Life After Django.

A big plug, by the way, for Django in June. If you could swing it, it's an incredible experience....basically, 5 solid days of playing upwards of 15-18 hours a day with over 100 musicians from all over the globe, and among them, some of the finest we have playing today. Crazy great time.
    -Paul

pas encore, j'erre toujours.
    Django in June is on my wish list this year.
    Actually it's probably a matter of day when I'm gonna go ahead and register.
    I've been hearing from Adrian (Holovaty) "you should go" for years now.
    Every note wants to go somewhere-Kurt Rosenwinkel
    Buco wrote: