DjangoBooks.com

What pick?

Comments

• dboxdbox New

Wim, are you holding the pick like that for lead and rythmn? I've been doing so for rythmn, but using the pointy end of my Kily Nonis and Dunlop prime tone 5mm picks for lead. Using the round end feels awfully close to the fingers? (I'm just starting out so please excuse the noob questions!)

• wimwim ChicagoModerator Barault #503 replica

Yes I hold it the same for lead and rhythm. It does get close to the fingers, and even scuff up the skin at the base of the fingernail a somewhat. But if you're playing regularly that skin toughens up pretty quickly.

rudolfochrist
  • Using the side of the gator picks is really common but I’ve never gotten use to it and using the pointy end for me works fine, Dennis demonstrated both in a video once and admits that it makes very little difference in sound to the audience, but the subtle difference is worth enough for some people to swear by it.

jonpowlrudolfochrist
  • MikeKMikeK Asheville, NCNew Altamira M-10, Epiphone Zephyr Regent

I use gator grip 2.O's when I play with my archtop & I always use the side of the pick for lead & rhythm. I find it gives me a little more control when I solo & it makes it easier for me to play rhythm a little quiter. But when I play my Altamira's, I use a **** 2.9, and I use the pointy end.

vanmalmsteen

Blue Chip for me. Although I wouldn't mind trying that Japanese pick if they ship internationally.

Every note wants to go somewhere-Kurt Rosenwinkel