DjangoBooks.com

What is this "pre"turnaround" called?

Hi everyone,

This is my first post here after some months of lurking behind the screen.

I am somewhat new to this genre and to jazz in general, and my knowledge of theory is very limited, so please excuse my ignorance.

I have a question regarding a very common progression of chords that I see in many popular tunes. It usually comes right before the final II V I in the last few bars of the progression.

First song that comes to mind, is "Some of These Days";

In the final A sequence, it begins with a C - C#dim - G - E7 , and then goes into the II V I (A7 - D7 - G).

I am ignorant in the theory aspect, so I just refer to it as a "Pre-turnaround" as it commonly comes right before the II V I turnaround.

So my question is twofold. First, what is this sequence called? is there a common name/phrase for it? What are some of the more famous songs that use it?

Second, I have been having a hard time improvising over this sequence. I was wondering what are some common approaches to phrasing over it. Any examples and suggestions will be warmly welcomed.

Comments

• wimwim ChicagoModerator Barault #503 replica

I have heard it called "Christophe" by french guys ..

• Svanis1337Svanis1337 ✭✭✭
    edited March 2022 Posts: 459

For simplicity's sake you can think C major blues scales or Altered scale over C and C#dim and then G6 arpeggios work over the rest and you can find extra notes that fit. Actually you can play G6 over the whole thing if you want. The dim chord is a colorful chord in this cadence and I like to pay extra attention to it by playing some "gypsy" / classical sounding diminished thing there.

Twang
  • WillieWillie HamburgNew
    edited March 2022 Posts: 825

Same progression as the one that remained unanalyzed in @krzys' II-V-I-songlist-discussion, last 8 bars of Django's Tiger:

Nobody here to tame and demystify the IV#° monster?