DjangoBooks.com

Picks

ScoredogScoredog Santa Barbara, Ca✭✭✭✭
edited July 2015 in Welcome Posts: 872
As a relative GJ newbie I have been fooling around with picks.
So I did a glance over "search" here to see what people said about picks and found things like "these feel good" , "I really like these" etc etc but very little about the differences of tone between picks. Some of that may be because it's expensive to start comparing so many picks but my guess is people have experimented some. I have been using a tortoise shell like pick I picked up from **** and like it, I also tried out a Django pick from Michael and between these 2 had not touched my Wegen's in months. Just before an acoustic jam I pulled out the Wegen's and to my surprise they were not as mellow as the former 2 picks but much brighter and realized they would carry better in a jam. Using an amp and pickup changes that dynamic but for straight acoustic I realized in my past jam situations I would have been heard better using a Wegen. On the other side of this I would probably record with the tortoise shell type pics which sound less harsh but again that depends on the song. BTW my Wegen 2 and 5 mil's sounded similar to each other.

Anyway looking to see what others have discovered.

Comments

• I use a Blue Chip Kenny Smith 60 (about 1.5mm). Very rounded tip but has speed bevel. Has the fattest tone and least pick noise of any pick I tried to date. If you are playing rhythm being heard is not ideal. If you are playing lead, and want a punchier, crisper attack, you might try a sharper point on your pick, a la Wegen Big City. My $.02
    The Magic really starts to happen when you can play it with your eyes closed
  • kevingcoxkevingcox Nova Scotia✭✭✭✭ Dupont MD50